Spinach and Artichoke Grilled Cheese Sandwich

This year, I made the Hubster make a new year resolution – to start making, packing and taking lunch from home. This is one of the easiest ways to start saving a few dollars every week. And those dollars add up quickly especially if you are buying lunches in the NYC area which can run you 10-15 dollars everyday! Can you imagine all the savings! How is his resolution going – well let’s just say he is taking lunch at least 2-3 times a week – making and packing lunch is a different story. That job is left for his absolutely lovely sweet caring wife – ME! One of our favorite lunches is a grilled cheese sandwich. And it can’t be just any ordinary grilled cheese, it has to be a gourmet grilled cheese. Let’s start with the basics of what I believe are the fundamentals to making a crunchy, perfectly melted, tasty grilled cheese.

1) Bread – this is essential to getting the desired crunchiness! I’m not a fan of pre-packaged breads for grilled cheese. My preference is really good bakery bread that can be found at any supermarket. Crispy, chewy, flaky crust on the outside. Light, fluffy and airy on the inside.

2) Butter – a good spreadable salted butter. (Though I do tend to omit this at times to save a few calories)

3) Cheese – use a good flavored melting cheese. Additionally, I like to shred my own cheese. I think it helps the cheese melt more evenly – not to mention you can cover every inch of the bread with cheese.

4) Fillers – this is where you can get creative! Our favorites are mushrooms, spinach, broccoli, Potbelly’s pepper mix (or giardiniera mix will do as well), olives, pickled jalapeños, onions and tomatoes. Of course we don’t use these all at once! Which leads to my last basic and maybe the most important

5) Proportion! – The perfect bite should have the right amount of bread to cheese to fillers. Over filling the sandwich will make it fall apart. By adding too much cheese you risk losing your flavor profile. By not having enough cheese, you risk calling it grilled cheese.

Most important thing to remember,you have to determine what works for you and your taste! Everything is a matter of opinion.

Next, let’s talk about cooking your grilled cheese – there are many methods from stovetop cooking to oven cooking. My preferred method is using my Cuisinart Griddler only because it’s fast, easy and easy cleanup!

20140208-091319.jpg

Now that we have our basics, let’s build our grilled cheese. For tomorrow’s lunch, I’ve decided to use multigrain bread, fresh mozzarella cheese, parmigiano-reggiano, spinach, artichokes and for my husbands sandwich – onions and Potbelly peppers.

20140208-090734.jpg.

First butter your bread. Then layer it with mozzarella cheese. At this point I add some salt and freshly cracked black black pepper. I always like to add the cheese first because it’s the glue for my bread and fillers.

20140208-095236.jpg
Next, I layer my spinach and artichokes.

20140208-095343.jpg. For the Hubster’s sandwich I add a few sliced onions and the Potbelly’s pepper. I top it off with the parmigiano-reggiano. Normally, I use parmigiano-reggiano to coat the outside of the bread to make a cheesy crust. This time I added it on the inside. (I did also sneak in a few pieces of mozzarella cheese.

20140208-100015.jpg
Last top it off with another slice of buttered. I just close my Griddler and let it cook it for 4-5 minutes on high. Once it’s done, serve immediately or place on a cooling rack if it’s for later.

20140208-100620.jpg

The verdict: The hubster loved loved loved his grilled cheese for lunch. Hopefully, I can motivate him to make it himself next time!

2 thoughts on “Spinach and Artichoke Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Leave a comment